BREAKING: Fresh Crisis Erupts in APC As Adamu, Others Reject Akpabio’s Announcement

  • The APC has rejected the announcement of principal officers of the 10th national assembly by Godswill Akpabio in the Senate and Tajudeen Abbas in the House of Reps
  • Addressing governors of the party on Tuesday shortly after the announcement, Adamu said the leadership of the party knows nothing about the development
  • Adamu maintained that the APC would not descend to going against the tradition where the party will have to write the national assembly will constitute principal positions that concern the party

FCT, Abuja – The All Progressives Congress (APC) leadership has dissociated itself from the announcement of principal officers in the Senate and the House of Representatives on Tuesday, July 4….CONTINUE READING

PAY ATTENTION:  BREAKING: Power will be restored soon, Adelabu assures Nigerians

The development is a beacon of new crisis between the leadership of the ruling party and the newly inaugurated national assembly over the zoning of principal positions in the national assembly, The Nation reported.

 APC/Abdullahi Adamu/Senate/House of Reps/Godswill Akpabio/Tajudeen Abbas
APC distances itself from the announcement of principal officers at the national assembly
Photo Credit: @OfficialAPCNg
Source: Twitter

Akpabio announces Senate principal officers

Senate President Godswill Akpabio and his counterpart in the Green Chamber, Speaker Tajudeen Abbas, announced principal officers of both houses during the plenary on Tuesday….CONTINUE READING

Opeyemi Bamidele was announced in the Senate as the majority leader, while David Umagi emerged as the deputy majority leader.

Also, Mohammed Ali Ndum Me was announced as the majority chief whip, while Lola Ashiru was named the deputy majority chief whip.

PAY ATTENTION:  Breaking: Dear G7 of NASS speakership aspirants

Names of principal officers in Senatethe, House of Representatives

In the House of Representatives, the speaker named Julius Ihonvbere, the lawmaker representing Owan East/Owan West Federal Constituency of Edo as the majority leader, while Abdullahi Ibrahim Halims, the legislator representing Ankpa/Omala/Olamaboro of Kogi, was declared the deputy majority leader.

Abbas also named Bello Usman Kumo, of Akko federal constituency of Gombe, as the chief whip, while Adewunmi Oriyomi Onanuga, representing Ikenne/Sagamu/Remo north federal constituency in Ogun, as the deputy chief whip.

But Abdullahi Adamu, the national chairman of the APC, while addressing governors under the APC on Tuesday, said the party knows nothing about the principal officers that were announced at the national assembly.

PAY ATTENTION:  BREAKING: Appeal Court invalidates election of Senate Minority Leader, orders rerunAppeal Court invalidates election of Senate Minority Leader, orders rerun

Akume plots PDP’s G-5 defection to APC

WE earlier reported that George Akume, the secretary to the government of the federation, has been said to be making moves to woo some governors and past governors of the PDP into the APC.

This is as the former governor of Benue State reportedly made permutations that the PDP G5, some of them allegedly supported Tinubu during the 2023 election, to join the ruling APC.

Recall that the PDP G5 kicked against the continuation of Iyorchia Ayu as the party’s national chairman after Atiku Abubakar emerged as the PDP flagbearer in the 2023 presidential election…..CONTINUE READING